How you doin’?

So I’ve had a few people ask how things are going regarding my dating/love life, and I’m not sure if its because people are really curious or because they miss my crazy stories of online dating!  Well either way, I’m flattered to know that you enjoy reading my little life updates and think I’m a good writer!  I try to keep it real and still bring in a little humor!  ….actually I find my life pretty hilarious and I’m still not sure why someone doesn’t follow me around with a camera.  (I say as I’m sitting alone in the dark typing on my computer while watching reruns of “Jane the Virgin”).

 

Ok for the update!

Single.

I have yet again shut down the Match.com account.  I was seeing someone somewhat regularly and things in his life changed, life happens for all of us, and that ended the “dating” relationship.  He is still a friend, and I’m pretty sure we are both ok moving forward in our own directions.

I have decided that the online thing is not for me, for real this time!  Meeting new people has been stressful but has stretched me in ways I didn’t realize I needed to be stretched in!  I am (unless you know me) a very shy person!  I do not like going places alone, I don’t like meeting new people, I have a hard time even making eye contact with people at the grocery store!  In the last few months I have met 6 or 7 strangers, 2 have become friends and the others have slowly disappeared.

Something I learned though this process is that when you meet strangers, you have no real connection to them and their “people”.  You don’t know anyone in their lives that can vouch for them as decent humans.  All you have is what they say and show you, and that is usually all fluff.  When it really comes down to knowing someone I think that you need to now their “people” too.  You need to see how they interact with their friends and family to get a better grasp on the true person that they are.

I know there are people out there who swear by online dating, and that is great!  I’m sure there are some really great people out there on these sites and they are finding their “match”.  I on the other hand attract 80 year old men and guys who say one thing and mean another.  …and I’m serious on the 80 year old, he winked and favorited me…I threw up a little.

This year I will be turning 35, I am WAY behind where I thought I’d be at this time in my life.  I am learning to be OK with that, and to know that this is where I am supposed to be in life, right NOW!  I have no idea if or when I will meet my person, or if there is a person to meet, maybe I already know them, maybe I don’t.  2014 was a rough year, in ways harder than I’d ever imagined my life could be.  I am hopeful that even though 2015 is off to a bumpy start that it will end with LOVE, even if that is still me sitting in the dark watching reruns of some cheesy show writing another update on my single life.  If I am learning to LOVE others and myself more each day, then I will consider that success!

d903b1a5bae9297693a6349cd80f0a55

Leave a Reply

